Home Forums WordPress Plugins Emailed replies not showing up on forum

Tagged: 

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Kellee O’Reilly
      Participant

Hello, I’m new to this. I’m using the bbPress Notify (No Spam) Reply by Email. When I reply to the email that arrives, those replies do not show up on the forum. I noticed this line in the logs:
      [11/05/2021 23:54:58] Could not find one of user_id or forum_id in the hashed data. Skipping message. Array

Help!
      (and thank you in advance)

vinny
      Keymaster

Hi Kellee, thanks for reaching out!

It sounds like your email client isn’t setting the reply-to correctly when replying. If you’re using a Gmail account that is the same as what you have in Admin > Settings > General > Admin Email, then it’s a known issue and you’ll have to either change the mailbox in the RBE connection or change the address in the Admin Email field. You should be using a dedicate mailbox for RBE anyway…

If that’s NOT the case, please check that the To field, when replying, looks something like this: [mailbox]+usc_[a bunch of characters]@[the mailbox domain].

Let me know what you find.

Cheers,
      Vinny

Kellee O’Reilly
        Participant

I have a dedicated gmail address for the forums. And the reply to email looks like this:

[redacted]+usc_[redacted]@gmail.com

However, the gmail address i’m using to reply to that [redacted]+usc. . . is the gmail address in the General Admin area. Is that what’s causing the problem?

So, to be clear
        BBPress reply all is using [redacted]@gmail
        WordPress > General > Admin is my personal gmail.

Thanks for the reply, hopefully it’s easy to get to the bottom of this.

vinny
      Keymaster

Sorry, I’m still a bit confused. Let’s approach this a bit differently. Here are some questions to be answered yes or no. For safety, let’s call the RBE mailbox [email protected].

1. When testing RBE functionality, are you testing from within [email protected] mailbox?